Failure to Appear FAQ

I have an Outstanding Violation(s). What does that mean and what do I need to do?

An outstanding violation is an unresolved citation that has been reported to the Failure to Appear/Failure to Pay program. If this citation has been resolved or has been reported in error; please contact the court from which the cition was issued. Only the jurisdiction that issued the citation has the authority to clear the citation.

Back to top

I received a letter but am not in the database.

If the database is not reflecting any offenses on your file, the offense has either been resolved or the data you entered does not match exactly with the information in the database. If you entered your driver license number and date of birth correctly, please call 1-800-686-0570 and speak with a representative for assistance.

Back to top

How long does it take for the removal of the restriction on my license once resolved?

All clearance reports must be submitted within 5 business days of the time and date that the originating court receives appropriate payment or other information that satisfies the obligation to that court. Once submitted, updates to the driver license record occur within 5 business days.

Back to top

Where do I obtain information about outstanding warrants?

The Failure to Appear Program does not have information on warrants. It will be necessary to check with the court to determine if a warrant has been issued.

Back to top

What is the statutory authority for the Failure to Appear Program?

Texas Transportation Code Chapter 706.

Back to top

Can I send the payment for the violations to the Department of Public Safety or OmniBase Services?

No. Payments must be made to the court after verifying the amount owed.

Back to top

What do I do if I am having trouble contacting the court - no one answers or all I get is a busy signal?

You may contact OmniBase Services of Texas by phone at 1-800-686-0570 for additional assistance.

Back to top

Can I pay my fine with a credit card or personal check?

You must contact the reporting court to determine acceptable payment options.

Back to top

Can I make one payment to cover violations reported by multiple courts?

No. You must pay each court.

Back to top

Can I contact and/or pay the court on-line?

Some courts offer online payment options. You must either contact the court directly or you may visit the following web sites for information regarding online payment options. For Municipal/City Courts visit www.tml.org/links_cities.html. For Justiv of the Peace/County Courts visit www.texascounties4u.org/websites.html.

Back to top

I did not receive notification that my driver license was denied renewal.

Notification letters are mailed to the address provided at the time of the violation. Additionally, the Department of Public Safety mails a letter to the address on file with the Department; however these are courtesy letters and do not affect the legality denial.

Back to top

Can I present documentation to the Department of Public Safety proving a violation has been paid to have my license renewed?

No. The reporting court must notify OmniBase Services to remove the information from the failure to appear program.

Back to top

Can my driver license be denied renewal for non-traffic violations?

Yes. Chapter 706 of the Texas Transportation Code authorizes the Department of Public Safety to denial renewal of a driver license for any offense within the jurisdiction of a Texas court including non-traffic violations.

Back to top

Does the FTA database have a record of all outstanding violations that I may have in Texas

No. The database only contains outstanding violations reported by a jurisdiction with a contract with the Drpartment of Public Safety.

Back to top

Can I get assistance with other Department of Public Safety matters at this web site?

No. If you require assistance with any other matters related to the Department of Public Safety you may visit the DPS web site at www.txdps.state.tx.us or you may contact 512.424.2600. For information concerning Driver Responsibility surcharge payments or to set up an installment agreement, please contact the Municipal Services Bureau at 1-800-688-6882 or msb@txdps.state.tx.us. Surcharge payments can now be made online at www.txsurchargeonline.com. Back to top